Board of Trustees


Ken Banta

Member of the Board since 2020.  Founder and Principal of the Vanguard Group, which supports senior executives as they build high-performance organizations and take their leadership, and their teams, to higher levels. Vanguard helps top leaders develop a meaningful sense of purpose and culture that will deliver results for their organization—and catalyze change when needed.



Lucy Bruell

Member of the Board since 2020. Lucy Bruell is a journalist and filmmaker. Her documentary Oli Otya? Life and Loss Rural Uganda was an official selection at the 2020 Sedona International Film Festival. She is an Instructor in the Department of Medicine and the Associate Director of the Professional and Humanistic Aspects of Medical Education program at the NYU Grossman School of Medicine.



Kenneth Eisold, Ph.D.

Member of the Board sine 2018. Dr. Eisold is Past President of the International Society for the Psychoanalytic Study of Organizations, is a practicing psychoanalyst as well as an executive coach and organizational consultant. He is a graduate of the Institute's Program in Psychoanalysis.





Andrew Gerber, MD, Ph.D.

Vice President

Member of the Board since 2020. Dr. Gerber is President and Medical Director of Silver Hill Hospital, an independent, not-for-profit psychiatric hospital that has been a standout among the top psychiatric hospitals in this country since its founding in 1931. He is a graduate of the Harvard Medical School and completed a NIMH-sponsored Postdoctoral Research Fellowship in the Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at Columbia University.  He is Associate Clinical Professor at the Yale School of Medicine/Child Study Center; Associate Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, Columbia University Medical Center; and Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences at University of Massachusetts/Amherst.





Tom Hennes

Member of the Board since 2020.  Mr. Hennes founded Thinc Design in 1992 as an extension of a successful practice in theatre design. Over the last 25 years the firm has evolved into a dynamic and multi-disciplinary studio able to see projects through diverse lenses.




Lenore Katkin, M.D.

Member of the Board since 1989. Dr. Katkin is a pediatrician who has served on governing boards of many major hospitals and medical centers.




Elizabeth Krimendahl, Psy.D. (ex officio)

Member of the Board since 2021.  Dr. Krimendahl is Executive Director of the Institute, past Director of Clinical Services, and faculty, Training and Supervising Analyst.  




Marylou Lionells, Ph.D.

Member of the Board since 2018.  Dr. Lionells was Director of the Institute from 1992-2000. She is a Training and Supervising Analyst.



Mary B. McRae, Ed.D.

Mary B. McRae, Ed.D, is a psychologist in private practice.  She also does coaching for managers and executives. She is a retired professor of Applied Psychology, New York University.  Her scholarship involves a psychoanalytic and systemic study of authority and leadership in groups and organizations with a focus on issues of difference such as race, ethnicity, gender, culture, social class, and sexual identity.




Richard Pulik

Member of the Board since 2022. CFO, Roivant Sciences.




Milton L. Williams
Member of the Board since 2022. Partner, Walden Macht & Haran.






Charles C. Harrington

Charles C. Harrington, Ph.D.
President Emeritus and Chair Emeritus

Member of the Board since 1978
Professor of Anthropology, Psychology and Education, Teachers College, Columbia University



Margot T. Egan

Honorary Member of the Board since 2004

Psychotherapist; philanthropist